Almond Marzipan Cookies (minus the wheat)

I’ve never made marzipan in my entire life! The name alone makes it sound like a complicated culinary feat. But it is truly easy. And yummy!

What I love about this recipe is that, yes, it’s delicious. But it’s a cookie recipe that required no wheat.

Since this was the first time I made this recipe, I was nervous about two things: grinding up the nuts, and all that powdered sugar.

Next time I won’t be so timid about using my NEW food processor. I was scared I’d end up with almond butter instead of finely ground almonds. So, the result was a bumpy cookie.  But I think it was supposed to be that way.

And as for the powdered sugar, well, I just felt so guilty about using it at all. But then I read where powdered sugar does not have as many calories as regular sugar. That eased my mind and I munched on one cookie after another.

I dare you to not do the same! I triple dare you!

Here’s a photo of the last 5 marzipan of the bunch. The recipe follows. My tips are in this color.

Almond Marzipan

Ingredients

¼     C. masa harina (corn flour)** see below for recipe without corn flour
2      C. chopped almonds
2      C. chopped nuts
½     Tb. baking powder
1¾   C. powdered sugar
1      Egg
1      Tb. butter, melted
1      Tb. Oil
1      Orange peel, grated

Directions

Preheat the oven to 340°F (170ºC).

Finely ground the nuts in a food processor. Don’t over mix or you will end up with nut butter.

Mix the masa harina, chopped almonds, chopped nuts, baking powder, and the powdered sugar in a bowl.

Add the egg, melted butter, oil, and the grated orange peel.

Mix well until the dough you have is uniform.
I used the back of a fork to do this.

Once the dough is ready, make small balls.
Use a 1/2 tablespoon measuring spoon (or smaller) for this. Level off the dough evenly with the top of the spoon.

Place cookies on a greased baking pan.
Use a small knife to gently ease the dough out of the spoon. Put the flat side down on the cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes.

Makes: 100 to 150 marzipans.
Tip: You can use nuts instead of almonds.
Recipe Source: Mimaseca

Most of you probably do not have corn flour. Maybe you never even heard of it. Don’t worry. Here is a Flourless Marzipan Cookie recipe that is still wheat free but that does not use corn flour.

Leave a Reply

