3 Ramadhan 1435/2014 ~ Dessert {Apple Tarts}

3 Ramadhan 1435 apple pieThe Dish:
Individual apple tarts/crostata – recipe below

Method of Cooking:
Oven, stove top

Tip:
When cooking the apples, keep the sauce pan covered. Otherwise, the liquid from the apples will evaporate and the mixture will probably burn.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Have you too noticed an increased desire for desserts during Ramadhan? Or is it just me?

At any rate, these apple tarts came about through a marriage of two recipes. Here’s how I did it insha’Allah.

First, I adjusted this simple but tasty stove-top {Chunky Apple Filling Recipe} for 1 pound of apples since it was all I had; it was enough alHamdulillah. With no lemon juice on hand, I substituted water! And I used white sugar instead of the brown but added about ½ teaspoon of molasses . . . after all, brown sugar is just white sugar + molasses. The molasses adds flavor and creates that beautiful color.

Next, while the apples were simmering in the sauce pan, I made this gluten-free {Sorghum Pie Crust}.  I used butter not shortening, and added ½ teaspoon sugar to the dry ingredients because I know this recipe is a bit on the salty side.

Next, I divided the dough into ramekins, patted the crust into the bottom and up the sides of the ramekins, and baked according to the recipe instructions.

I let the crusts cool for about 10 minutes before piling in the cooked apple pie filling.

Y-u-u-u-u-m-m-y!

 

 

Leave a Reply

